NotBlueAtAll

I'm just a fat gal with a blog and an opinion. Well, lots of opinions.

Fatshion Post: Eshakti Review With Pics! Woo!

January27

So, I had a couple of glasses of wine the other night and just felt rad and so I finally got around to taking pics of my Eshakti.com order. I share with you a review of what I bought with pics of myself wearing them. And just to kick things off right, here’s a pic of my fave day-off outfit:
Photobucket

I said to my husband, “Holy crap! Is my chest always so red?!” He said, “No, but it’s like when your cheeks get flushed, so does your chest.” Thanks reality for putting me in check. *flips off reality*

I have bought a few pieces from Eshakti.com since first hearing about their radness from Lesley of Fatshionista/TwoWholeCakes fame. While they were/are all lovely, I just don’t wear them much and I can’t really figure out why. In fact the one dress I lusted after, bemoaned when they discontinued and then bought the second they brought it back, I haven’t even worn yet! Nuts! But I still adore their stuff, it’s all so unique and fabulous and the customizing? Yeah, where else can ya get that at an affordable price? NOWHERE!!!

When I received a gift certificate for Eshakti, well, I took my time and chose what I knew I would wear! Since this wasn’t my money anyway, I went with two things I always want but never buy: A dress & a skirt!

Here’s what I got:

Lace Version Link Here

Cotton (Cinnamon)Link Here
Skirt Link Here

Ruffle front lace dress

The black dress I got was
actually a jersey knit-cotton.
The pic is the same, but in lace.

Here’s the pics of me in them:

And now for my review:

OMZ! I always choose the custom sizing option because I’m a death fatty and at the tiny price they charge for it it is so completley and utterly worth it! I don’t care what size you are, get the custom option! For real! I got to choose arm opening size, skirt length…you name it! That said, I received my items a few weeks ago and hadn’t even tried them on. I’m not crazy, just confident that they would be fabulous and fit right and I haven’t been feeling very camera ready lately, ya know? But I threw them on last night and instantly felt amazing in them. I have zero complaints. Well, I have one request: MORE Gift Certificates, please! Ha! That’s it though.

The dress is a thick cotton knit jersey, double layered, with puff sleeves (squee!), POCKET! (double squee!) and it falls right where I want it! (I think it was just below the knee on me). The neckline is slightly more modest than I’m used to, but no problem with that either. It just means I never have to worry about the boobages peaking out without warning. Some dresses they just do that. They’re very friendly apparently. Ha-ha!

The skirt! Oh this skirt! It comes in a few colors, but the purple just spoke to me. I could wear this skirt to almost anything and look fabulous and fit in without worry. From casual to formal, this skirt rocks my socks! I am still not used to wearing skirts, so I am unsure where I want it to sit, but it would depend on what top I pair it with, I think. So here’s the pics:
Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket

Since I never do fatshion posts anymore, here’s a Bonus pic of a B&Lu dress a great friend gave me over the weekend:
Photobucket

Now if I could just find the right purple tights…
Also, just won these on eBay and shall be pairing them with both of my eShakti items, WOOT!!!
Doc Martens “Ellen”
DR.DOC MARTENS SHOES ELLEN PLAID FABRIC  39 8M EUC

Be Sociable, Share!
29 Comments to

“Fatshion Post: Eshakti Review With Pics! Woo!”

  1. On January 27th, 2011 at 8:18 am Jenna Says:

    you look GORGEOUS in those pieces!!!

    I have been thinking to do eshakti but I had not cause it was a lot of $$ to drop on somethng I cant see or feel but your post was really helpful!

  2. On January 27th, 2011 at 9:45 am Not Blue at All Says:

    Aw, thank you, doll. You’re too kind. I must say, I have never been disappointed with eshakti, I have heard of others who hated them though. I don’t want to give the impression that they are perfect, but I have found that their customer service is excellent. My only complaint would be that I once ordered a top on clearance/ready to wear and it was gorgeous but there was a smear in the block printed design. I sent it back clearly asking for an exchange and instead they refunded the money. No bother really, but not what I expected. Other than that? Perfection. Ha-ha!

  3. On January 27th, 2011 at 10:05 am Carol Gwenn Says:

    I don’t care WHAT color it is! I’M GETTING THAT DRESS!

    It looks SO great on you; you’ve got the coloring to really stand out in black. Have been reading your posts & had wondered what you looked like – now I know that as well as that you’ve got REALLY good taste in what you wear.

    Shop on!

  4. On January 27th, 2011 at 10:24 am Not Blue at All Says:

    Woo! I hope you share a pic of you in the dress! Even if you just want to email me directly! Ha-ha! Aw, thanks so much. You’re a sweetie for sure. There’s a couple of head shots of me in the “About” section, but yeah I haven’t posted many fatshion pics since summer time. I’ll try to work more in eventually. Thanks for reading!

  5. On January 27th, 2011 at 10:13 am Torquemada Says:

    Yay, that B&Lu dress looks really cute on you! I’m so glad it’s found a home. You’d better wear it out somewhere!

  6. On January 27th, 2011 at 10:25 am Not Blue at All Says:

    I am actually wearing the dress today at work! And for the first time in my life, someone said I looked “elegant!” WOW! Wasn’t expecting that! Ha! You’re too sweet! *hugs*

  7. On January 27th, 2011 at 10:15 am ladymeag Says:

    That dress looks _awesome_ on you – not that I had any doubt it would! You rock that dress in a way that I never could!

  8. On January 27th, 2011 at 10:25 am Not Blue at All Says:

    Thank you, doll! I have been telling everyone about my fabulous friend who gave me this dress today. I wore it to work and I’m loving it! It’s quite comfy! Thanks again and again!

  9. On January 27th, 2011 at 12:38 pm Eryn Says:

    You look amazing in the black dress! AMAZING! I love the purple skirt too- good choice!

  10. On January 27th, 2011 at 12:45 pm Not Blue at All Says:

    Aw, thank you darlin’! I must admit, when I saw that dress on the site, I gasped…it was perfection!

  11. On January 27th, 2011 at 12:53 pm Twistie Says:

    I keep thinking that the next time I have some money to spend I’m going to do it at Eshakti… and then I buy another cookbook or three instead. Now, however, I’m starting to run out of clothes that I can wear outside of the house (due to condition, not styling), so this may be the kick up the rear I’ve been needing to have a good friend do some measuring and put together an order.

    Oh, and BTW, you look FABULOUS, darling! Elegant is, indeed, le mot juste.

    Also? I covet that B&Lu dress. It is made of pure win and unicorn dust.

  12. On January 27th, 2011 at 12:57 pm Not Blue at All Says:

    That B&Lu dress was a total surprise! ladymeag (who commented below) just happen to have no need for it, I was in shock, it’s so pretty! And the comments I’m getting today are so flattering. Just, wow! Thank you! I had to look up what you said in French there, but thanks.
    I would happily measure you, dear! I feel like a pro at it now. ha! <3

  13. On January 27th, 2011 at 1:23 pm FilthyMidget Says:

    I am super jealous of that black dress!

  14. On January 27th, 2011 at 1:36 pm Not Blue at All Says:

    Oh! No need for jealousy, eshakti.com is there for all and with the custom sizing option? Truly for ALL! <3

  15. On January 27th, 2011 at 1:46 pm FilthyMidget Says:

    I know I saw it, but it is out of stock at the moment so I am on email update. I need custom. I am hippy & chesty with no height at all lol. They need to get them back in!

  16. On January 27th, 2011 at 1:49 pm Not Blue at All Says:

    They go out of stock on things often, but usually bring ’em back (especially with demand). =0)

  17. On January 27th, 2011 at 1:57 pm Moe Says:

    I love that black ruffle eShakti dress. It looks awesome on you.

  18. On January 27th, 2011 at 2:45 pm Not Blue at All Says:

    Thank you! It is special. =0)

  19. On January 27th, 2011 at 10:14 pm sabrina Says:

    good lord, that skirt is delicious! and you look fabulous as hell!! i haven’t bought anything from eshakti yet (i just got a tape measure actually figure out my size! :), but you have convinced me to go forth and purchase!

  20. On January 28th, 2011 at 9:20 am Not Blue at All Says:

    Ha-ha! Thank you, yes that skirt is outta sight! Get to measuring, it’s an interesting thing to do on it’s own, and then order at your leisure! <3

  21. On January 28th, 2011 at 2:21 am Lauren Says:

    OMG I did not know about that site! Totally checked it out and fell in love. I am a sucker for ultra feminine dresses. I love how flirty and sexually empowering they can be. So often I am restricted by fashion into very asexual lines simply because of my size, and I hate that. I also really love bold prints and colors. The B&Lu dress is fabulous!

  22. On January 28th, 2011 at 9:22 am Not Blue at All Says:

    See, now I’ve had people hate me for recommending Eshakti! I always warn that it’s addictive. So many choices in such amazing prints and fabrics. It can be overwhelming. But I am glad you like it! The B&Lu dress was a total surprise and definitely not something I would have chosen for myself. I have generous friends with great taste! <3

  23. On January 28th, 2011 at 8:12 pm Kaitlin Says:

    Sorry to stop in completely randomly, but I have to tell you that you’ve opened up a door to me fashion-wise. I did not know that that website even existed! And the stuff is so affordable for what it is!

    That black dress looks adorable on you! Now I want one for myself!

  24. On January 29th, 2011 at 10:56 am Not Blue at All Says:

    Oh! No worries on that. I am so glad that you like it though. It’s all good stuff. It also helps when people on Fatshionista post their own pics/reviews, so you know what it looks like on a fat body! Love that! Thanks so much for reading/commenting. =0)

  25. On January 30th, 2011 at 7:57 am Sweetnfat Says:

    That skirt is phenomenal, though you are certainly rocking all those looks! I love those shoes too. <3 So cute!!

  26. On January 30th, 2011 at 12:30 pm Not Blue at All Says:

    Thanks, hun. That purple plaid is ridiculous, right?! I still haven’t worn them yet, but will find an excuse soon!

  27. On February 1st, 2011 at 4:58 am Kath Says:

    Whimper. WHIMPER!! I want to steal all of these items of clothing from you.

    *stamps foot at eShakti for not shipping to Australia*

  28. On February 1st, 2011 at 9:36 am Not Blue at All Says:

    I wonder why they don’t ship to AU? I’ll look into it and let you know if I find anything out. Thanks.

  29. On February 1st, 2011 at 10:24 pm Kath Says:

    I LONG for eShakti dresses. LONG for them!

Email will not be published

Website example

Your Comment:

 
Subscribe to my feed